h1

The Korean Simon and Garfunkel: Totes Better than the Ukranian New Kids on the Block

December 14, 2009

So tonight I found myself at a gathering at a wine bar in the hills of North Seoul (kind of like the Korean Bel Air), owned by the Simon or Garfunkel of the Korean Simon & Garfunkel. They were called Sa-wol & Oh-wol (or April and May) and they even played a set. They were pretty good.

I kind of like old Korean music, though I only really hear it in a taxi. Most of those ajusshis listen to this genre, called trot.

I don’t mind it at all. Maybe I just haven’t been culturally wired to think that it is old-fashioned and silly, like I guess country music is in the US. Though between you and me (you being the fair amount of people that come here, just passing through or regularly stalking– hi!!), I like [old] country music anyway. For some reason it feels like Patsy Cline weather lately.

This is my unhappy I’m cold face. Though, I am strangely obsessed with the dyed red collar on this winter coat I was given (thanks, btw!). I’m pretty sure it’s made out of bunny. I feel guilty about it, but it’s so warm and soft. My mother says, “It was either you or the rabbit,” though I kind of doubt that.

A bit of lazy post, I realize. What? It’s cold! Hard to type with mittens on, you know!

Oh– you say? But April– you haven’t told us what’s been in your stomach lately! You can’t just end it like that! Well, kids, if you must ask, on Friday I had delicious Peking (Beijing? What’s culturally correct?) duck at my work’s end of the year party:

Leave a Reply

