h1

Summer is Coming. Oh God.

May 31, 2009

DSC04169

Well, summer is imminent, I’ve stopped wearing tights underneath my dresses, I had my first nengmyun of the season, and am starting to entertain the idea of a cold shower. I know I’ve been through this before, mosquito bites and all, but I have to tell you, I’m still scared. I’ve spent almost a year here, in this country with seasons, and I can’t say I’m that much of a fan of the whole thing. I’m too Californian, too used to arbitrary markings of seasons by school calendars, instead of outside, you know, proof. Spring is lovely here, minus the Yellow Dust, and I wish it could stay.

Anyway, what I mean to say is that summer makes me stupid. Too much thought devoted to, “God, it’s hot! Why is it so hot! I hate it when it’s hot!” or perhaps even, just “WHYYYYYYYY” while lying in my floor. So if the quality of these posts drops off a little, I apologize.

I’ve also been really busy lately. I took a trip to Gangwa-do on the West Coast with my work Friday and Saturday, which was fun. The Korean countryside is really peaceful, in a sort of creepy, in a hearing the thunder of frogs mating at night kind of way. I guess it really isn’t my style though. I was afraid of falling into a rice paddy.

DSCF2174

They are also reclaiming the sea water nearby to make more room on the island. What results is a sand beach where you can wade into sticky squishy mud:

DSCF2185

For some reason, spring was also the season of random visits: my parents, my brother, Aaron, Harold, and most recently, Cate came. Strange. Well, I guess spring is the season that doesn’t suck (fall doesn’t suck either, but it is beautiful and brief). Goodbye spring. See you next year (oh but where? I still haven’t decided).

That’s all for now. Catch you kids later.

Leave a Reply

