h1

Half a year gone.

January 12, 2009

So, 6 months into my stay here and what do I have to show for it? A couple things I guess:

– The money. Which is nice. I guess this technically counts as my first job-job. (I wonder, does it count as full time?) I can pay to travel around on my own and for fancy meals when I feel like it. It does feel good.

– Increased proficiency in party games. Because sometimes class feels like one long game of Taboo (especially for when I give tests: “okay, this is the word for when you see through something, like a window, all the way through, it is not a color, I can’t see through this can I? No? This is brown. Can’t see through that. But through a window, I can see the apartment, and the love motel, and the…). Also, riding the subway is like playing Musical Chairs with vicious pointy-elbowed middle aged women.

– The love and adoration of children. Sometimes I lie about this. But here’s a cute picture anyway:

dscf0372

– Various other “experiences” cultural and otherwise, positive and negative, in the between for the most part. I thought about writing up a Top 5 Korean Memories, but I couldn’t put them in any sort of order. I guess a few would be: that time my friends and I belted out Toto’s “Africa” at the Manila Bar in Itaewon, hanging out in cafes and the artists’ street fair in Hongdae, the first time I went to Seoul Grand Park and rode the lift and went to the Contemporary Art Museum, Andy (see blue jacket in the picture above) fishing a tooth out of his mouth in the middle of listening class, getting hilariously drunk in Busan, having mud hosed into my face in Boreyeong, wandering Insadong, blah blah blah. Anyway, here’s a picture of The Lock Museum! I love functional items shaped like other things:

dscf0678

I wonder what the next 6 months will bring. Lately I’ve become fond of long subway rides. I don’t know what that really means. It’s somehow calming to be in transit all the time.  It sure beats getting there and being lost to what you’re going to do next. Speaking of which? Oh man, what am I going to do when I get home? Yikes.

I’m going to Manila in two weeks. Apparently it’s like California in May there, which will be a gorgeous change of pace from these Korean winters. Hopefully I don’t get shanked like Yuddy in Days of Being Wild.

I really, really don’t want to get shanked.

One comment

  1. Dude, I promise you you won’t get shanked! Yuddy was a douche anyway.



Leave a Reply

