h1

Korean Cultural Mathematics

July 20, 2008

I’ve almost written this post many times, with various titles, like “Things I Have To Get Used To” and “Well, That’s Different” but I keep thinking of more and more things to blog about. So I guess this is Part 1 of a series.

Fashion:

I spent the day at the Bupyeong Underground Market today and I’ve been noticing some things. Now, as a girl, I’ve done the “is this a slutty outfit?” math before. It’s something like low cut top + jeans = not slutty, modest shirt + little skirt = not slutty, low cut top + little skirt = possibly slutty. But here in South Korea, it seems like any hint of boobage + whatever = slutty (there are low cut tops, but Korean girls usually put a plain white shirt over it), but no boobage + shortest up to vagina skirt = okay. I’ve seen many an ass on an escalator. I don’t understand.

Also: Suspenders + anything = awesome. I bought myself a pair today. Kinda looks like this:

Oh yeah. I’m cool now.

I’m also gonna buy an oversized Blondie shirt if I see it again.

Food:

Any kind of food + fermented/pickled anything = delicious!

Now I love side dishes. I like kimchi, the Korean pancakes, fried eggs, even the spicy shrimp exoskeleton that they serve… but sometimes, I don’t need it. Sometimes I don’t particularly need kimchi to go with my cheesy spaghetti or pickles on top of my pizza.

Also, here are a couple Korean pizza types:

Sweet Potato Pizza

Sweet Potato Pizza

Cheesy Bread Pizza

Cheesy Bread Pizza

Also, there are tons of Korean bakeries. I think this is because most people around don’t own ovens. Sometimes I get perplexed by certain flavor choices. For the most part bread = a sweet flavor. When you get shaved ice at the mall, it usually comes slices of toast and a dish of whipped cream. When you get rolls, they always seem to have surprise jam and butter in the middle. When you get garlic bread, there’s always sugar sprinkled on top. But yeah, sometimes I miss savory + bread.

We also went to a buffet today and I wondered why the french fries were in the dessert section. They had honey and sesame sprinkled on them (actually kind of yummy!).

Music:

Only six songs exist in the country at the same time.

Also H.O.T. = Korean Beatles + Korean New Kids on the Block (those who did not go to middle school in Cerritos may not understand). I swear, every male ballader sounds like Kangta, all poppy rap sounds like Tony Ang, and of course, all middling boy bands sound like uh the rest of them. Anyway, I’m still a fan of the original (unless they’re not the original, which they probably are not):

It seems like the girl groups are definitely more popular right now though. I saw Wonder Girls socks at the mall.

That concludes this edition of Korean Cultural Mathematics.

I also hung out at this Canadian expatriate bar in Bucheon this weekend. I have yet to try the poutine, but I may have to. I am never trying the poutine pizza though. That just sounds gross.

Leave a Reply

